Spring free!

Today, as the spring has come to full bloom, I find my self alone like I am most of my time. I am working in A very small town just over the Idaho border into Oregon called Huntington. The railroad has been the only industry here for ever it seams; other then 1 gas station, 1 bar and 1 liquor store until recently. A new marijuana farm has been cultivated and two dispensaries created. I can only think that Idaho’s population has some sort of hand in supporting this new industry. I can’t imagine this town partaking in enough weed to support two dispensaries. I have chosen a sweet little spot off Washington street to the east of Town between Huntington and Spring Recreation Area. I believe it is private property owned by a vacation home rental. The site manager at Springs Rec. Area had told me about this place and I see there is no one to care that I stay. Others come and go fishing the large Stream nearby and there are no posted signs. My phone died today. The service is horrible in this small valley. My phone is constantly searching for better service. I am trying to stay connected and then darkness. It forces me to look up out of my Electronlic stuper to find, again, the beauty that sorounds me. I decided a walk through this wilderness is long over due. As I open the van door I hear so much. The birds first, they are singing to me. Suddenly the wind picks up, barely enough to feel. The trees tell me to take in the smells and my mind awakens with the aroma of the world around me blossoming. I’m not from Oregon although I have been here a few times. I’m not familiar with life here. So many new flowers and plants I haven’t taken the time to notice before. The stream is quite high and the sound becomes louder as I get closer. Sadly people have been here before and the Stream is bubbling with some sort of detergent in this little cove I thought perfect for fish. Despite the pollution I was able to see a small fish nontheless. Staying idle by the bank. Beautiful! I am always impressed when I walk amongst the wonders of our world and yet I get sucked away into this digital creation we have built. Living in a van continually disrupts this in so many ways. And I am thankful that I’m forced to look out and around. 

Another Perk: freedom feels free when I choose to open my eyes and walk amongst our lands. 

One thought on “Spring free!

Leave a Reply

