Fast forward

Hello, glad your back for more. I’m going to jump a head to current real quick in my story. There is a lot more to be told about the road to living in my van but I need to let you know where I am at at this time. The story about how I got here will continue I promise. I will keep you up to date on my current adventures the best I can while I continue with my back story. I currently own a 2006 Gulf Stream Vista Cruiser MB edition G24. Basically Gulf Stream Bought a 2005 dodge Sprinter (Mercedes Benz 2.7 litter turbo diesel on a freightliner chassis) and built a fully contained class B RV. I was lucky enough to find this one with 60,000 miles. It currently has 88,763 miles. When I bought it from Ray Citte RV in Roy Utah. I had them install a tow package. Best investment. Worst choice of service provider. There sales was amazing. 5 star rating easy but the service end was horrible they had my van for over a month and didn’t get anything done right. I had to finish every job myself after many return trips. “If you want it done right. Do it yourself”. With the tow package I am able to bring my 2006 Aprilia Caponord ETV1000 adventure touring motorcycle. A huge plus to the vandwelling lifestyle. Now you may think that with all this my life is complete. Wrong! No matter how much you spend or how much you build. With this lifestyle there is always a tweek that will make every trip a bit better. It’s always a challenge. Always work. And that is what provides a sense of pride in your own personal build. On my current to-do list is #1 major importance: SOLAR! I have a 200 watt system picked out. I will post a link and I’m hoping for your smarter minds to inform me on the ups and downs. I know nothing on this subject and am trying to learn. Second I want a bigger propane capacity. I’m not sure if I want to add an additional on board tank or replace what I have or plumb in a external port for off board tank use. Again your thoughts are welcome. I also need to fix the OEM water heater issue. It is an electric on demand that doesn’t really do a good job and it’s very inefficient. The ones that are built today I’m told are amazing. Not sure if I want to replace it with a new one or replace it with a propane tank heater. Let’s start some good conversation about these upgrades. Third is a dream. I want to “pop that cap” haha cheesy plug for a great swing band Lost Dog Found check them out. They are incredible! Anyway I want to install a pop up to give me penthouse sleeping with 360 degree views. It will also add the third bed giving me sleeping for 4-5. I have seat belts for 4. I added a lower bunk in the rear storage area already. It is under the factory bed in a space approximately 5’6″ long x 3′ wide x3′ tall. It has two exits and a light and cable for tv. Perfect clubhouse for my 10 year old son. I have included pictures so check them out. Of course request are welcome. Stay tuned this is just the beginning.

Leave a Reply

